Book Review: Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

Title: Everything Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Series: Standalone

Genre: Romance, YA, Contemporary

Pages: 310

Format: Hardcover

Review Also Posted On: Goodreads

Book Synopsis: 

The instant #1 New York Times bestseller–soon to be a major motion picture! In theaters May 19, it stars Amandla Stenberg as Maddy and Nick Robinson as Olly.

Risk everything . . . for love.

What if you couldn’t touch anything in the outside world? Never breathe in the fresh air, feel the sun warm your face . . . or kiss the boy next door? In Everything, Everything, Maddy is a girl who’s literally allergic to the outside world, and Olly is the boy who moves in next door . . . and becomes the greatest risk she’s ever taken. 

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla. 
  
But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly. 
  
Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster. 

Everything, Everything will make you laugh, cry, and feel everything in between. It’s an innovative,  inspiring, and heartbreakingly romantic debut novel that unfolds via vignettes, diary entries, illustrations, and more.

This Book is about:

A girl named Madeline who is allergic to almost everything so she can’t go outside, everything that goes inside her house needs decontaminating. So she has all the time to read books. And all the interactions she’s ever had are only between her nurse and her mum. Each day of Madeline’s life is just the same as the other. And everything changed when their new neighbors arrived. And she saw a boy, a boy that has this crazy thing for stunts and the first time she saw him she gasped at the stunt he performed. And since she can’t go out to introduce herself she just well… spied on the family, made schedules on what each of the family member are doing in specific hours of the day, she has a schedule on what her neighbors do except for the boy. Until one night through the suicide attempt of the cake the boy’s mother made… the boy gave Madeline his email and then they IM each other every night. Will Madeline risk her life to meet this boy? Will she break the rules or break her heart in this process? Is the life she’s living the truth or is it just an Illusion? This book literally has Everything!

My Review:

I still found out about this book via twitter and I really didn’t know that this was literally one of the Best Selling Novel out there and It was on the top of my TBR list since then. And I tried saying Hi to the Author and she said Hi back (EEEEEEEEEEPPPP!!!!!!!!) anyway.

The book cover looks lovely. I just love it! It’s simple yet eye catching and pretty and I just love it so much.

I loved the book. Like I literally read it in seven hours no breaks whatsoever. And if you don’t know how I read, I’m relatively a slow reader like one book a week reader. But I just couldn’t put Everything Everything down. The book starts off with a girl that has SCID a rare sickness that makes a person allergic to almost everything. I like how Madeline escapes her bubble like house with books. but how she and Olly met via the suicide of a Budnt Cake was funny AF and the IMing of both the characters just made my heart flutter. They’re just the cutest couple ever! With Madeline she has her firsts in Everything and Olly will be the one that will make her experience Everything. But their first contact ever was sorta breath taking for me. This book just emits this heart warming vibe in it that I loved so much. And also the revelations in the ending chapters literally blew my mind. Like  I can’t even!  I wasn’t expecting it at all and I was really shocked by it. That was really an unexpected turn of events. And I loved every minute I spent reading this book.

Dialogues: Amazing, Lovely and most of the lines here made my heart flutter.

Characters: the characters in this book are Amazing. Madeline was scared to go out since she’s allergic to almost everything. But when Olly arrived she literally gambled her life just to meet Olly and her character development was the best that there is. Also the other characters were still great I also adored Olly’s character but there were certain characters in the book that shook my world and I’m still not over it.

Plot: was super good. It was tragic at first then it turned into a sweet and cute love story until the revelation that changes everything ab out the book. This book is complete and utterly Brilliant.

Flow of the Story: It was really smooth and it wasn’t cluttered at all, it was easy to read no hard to understand words and I just love it.

Detailing: was practically perfect.

Overall an amazing read and even though I’m quite disappointed with myself that I read this book in ebook form and not in the physical form. I’m still happy that I read this and it was everything that I expected it to be. You’ll feel emotional and feel EVERYTHING while reading this book and I’m super excited that this is going to be a movie very very soon. It’ll be starred by Amalda Stenberg and Nick Robinson
Rating:

Leave a Reply

