Author Interview with S. McPherson (Author of At Water’s Edge)

Q: Hello Ms. McPherson, thank you again for accepting my Author Interview request. Can you please tell us a little something about yourself?

Hi, It’s absolutely my pleasure to be interviewed by you. Thanks for having me. So, a bit about me: I am a nursery school teacher living in Dubai. I am Jamaican-English and from the age of seven, I wanted to be a script writer and a choreographer. I still have an insatiable love for music, stories and writing.



Q: what genres do you feel comfortable writing Ms. McPherson? What draws you into those specific genres?

Fantasy, fantasy, fantasy with a side of romance haha I love worlds where anything is possible and when you can never truly know what is going to happen because anything goes. I also love the idea of magic, powers and a world different to our own with different rules and ways of life. I love the romance, because to me love, is just another type of magic.



Q: Can you tell us a little bit about your Book? Which is At Water’s Edge.
Sure. ‘At Water’s Edge’ is the twisted tale of two very different girls in two very different worlds who embark on an unforeseen adventure when they stumble through a portal and into each other’s lives. This adventure could lead to the downfall of a world on the brink of war and could bridge the gap of magic into this world we call home. Our protagonists must find their way back to their true realm before it is too late whilst at the same time, deciding where exactly home is to them.



Q: can you please tell us what made you want to write At Water’s Edge?
I was watching TV one day, a long, long time ago and I suddenly got a scene in my head: the opening scene. I didn’t know who the girl in my head was or why what was happening was happening but I saw it clearly. I wrote the scene down and then eventually forgot about it. Years later, when browsing through my computer, I came across this opening scene and was hooked. It was like the story had been simmering in my subconscious because suddenly I knew who this girl was and why things were happening and the story came together.

Q: Please give us an Insight to your Main characters. What does these characters do that makes them special?
I would say the main characters are Dezaray, Milo and Lexovia.

Dezaray is the ordinary girl. The one from our world who experiences life as we do (most of the time) until that one fateful night where she ends up slipping through the portal. Dezaray is special because she deals with great insecurities, abuse from herself and her loved ones and guilt and yet she somehow stays hopeful that life holds more. And then of course, she eventually goes out to find it.

Aside from his magical abilities and the unique world he lives in, Milo is special for his intellect and the way he views the world and Lexovia is special for bearing the burden of being the last Elentrice and the ordeals she must overcome.



Here’s the picture of the book cover of At Water’s Edge

Q: The cover is really eye catching and pretty, can you tell us how it came about?
Thank you! I was so excited when I saw the finished project. It basically shows Dezaray (her silhouette, as I did not want to ruin anyone’s own image of her) being sucked through the portal as she stands by the lake in the woods (She stands at water’s edge). The symbol is the Crest of Coldivor (the land she is sucked into) and shows the symbols of each remaining empire.



Q: Who designs your book covers?
‘At Water’s Edge’ was designed by Sara Salim of K-edge design based on a very limited and basic illustration from me. ‘Caught in the Ripples’ was a collaboration between Sara Salim and another freelance designer named Ahmad Wafta based on another simple sketch from myself and my friend, E.B. Both Sara and Ahmad are incredibly talented. I love them!



Q: Do you think that the cover plays an important role in the buying process?
Absolutely! They say ‘don’t judge a book by its cover’ but the cover is the first thing that catches your eye and hopefully holds your attention long enough for you to turn the book over and find out what it’s about.



Q: while writing your book, specifically At Water’s Edge did you encounter a “writer’s block”? If so, which part of the book?
I am very fortunate and have yet to experience writers block though I hope I never do. 



Q: Any tips on how to get through the dreaded writer’s block?
I find going for a walk, dancing or being out in nature, preferably at a great height, really helps get the creative juices flowing. They say it’s best to just write anything, keep the muscles working and finally you’ll break through the block.



Q: At Water’s Edge is an ongoing Series how do you feel on writing a series? Do you think writing a series is hard in some way?
I love writing a series and I am not sure I am a standalone sort of writer. I like to thoroughly explore and immerse myself in my characters and their worlds and start thinking what happened then and what will happen now and I think I have too much to say to fit into one book.

I think I would find writing a standalone difficult because I would fall in love with these worlds and characters and then have to say goodbye so soon.



Q: Besides the third book of the Water Rushes series. What are you working on at the moment? Can you tell us what’s it about?
I am working on a novella for the series which will technically be book 3.5 and shows a deeper look at the history of the world and what life was like then.

I am also working on a new novel, currently untitled. Part one will be appearing in a boxset this April with a collection of books by other authors. I can’t wait  My book tells the tale of two lovers cursed to meet a fatal and tragic end, over and over again. Though their bodies die, their souls live on in, reborn and doomed to repeat the same fate for all eternity. The lovers must first find a way to remember who they truly are and then they must discover a way to break the curse.



Q: How are you publishing this book? And why? (Indie, Traditional or both)
I am doing this indie. I feel like it’s more fun to have ultimate creative control and freedom. I have tried the traditional route with a previous novel I wrote a very long time ago. It received twelve rejections until at last, I told myself that wasn’t my story and began work on something else. With At Water’s Edge, I felt I had found what I wanted to write and so decided I didn’t need rejections to discourage me. I’ll do it myself, no matter what.



Q: What would you say are the main advantages and disadvantages of self-publishing against being published or the other way around?
I would say the biggest disadvantage of self-publishing is that you don’t quite know the industry or how to break in to the market. The biggest advantage is having complete creative freedom and control over the decision-making process.

Q: Your book, At Water’s Edge has a book trailer. (Can you please put the link below?)
Here is a link to the trailers for the first two books in the saga: http://www.smcphersonbooks.com/my-books/ 



Q: I watched the book trailer for the first time and I seriously freaked out. I really wanted to read your book. I have a bookish friend and I told her to watch your book trailer and she had the same reaction. Is that the reaction of most people have after watching your book trailer? 
I like to think so haha Quite a few people have gotten in touch with me after seeing the trailer and are very enthusiastic. I personally prefer the trailer for the second one and I am so excited to start working on the third! Eeeeeeeee (excited squeal)!!
Q:Was there a particular Book/ Author that inspired you to write?
Yes. In the early days I loved the weird and wonderful lives created by Roald Dahl & Enid Blyton and as I grew, I was of course inspired by the infamous JK Rowling. What a legend!



Q: When did you become a writer?
I was writing poems and songs from about four years old (not saying they were good haha). Then I started writing scripts for TV shows when I was about eight. The first TV Show I wrote was a series called Baby Girls about girls that wanted to form a group and be singers. Then I moved on to comics and short stories and at about fifteen I began working on a novel.



Q: When did you decide to be a writer?
I made a serious decision to be a writer in some way shape or form about eight years ago.



Q: Why do you write?
I write because I enjoy it. It relaxes me and gives me a way to release my tangled thoughts and imaginings. I write because I have to. If I didn’t I would probably end up a batty old kook chatting with the voices in my head and imagining these made-up faces and creatures passing me in the street.



Q: How do you think you’ve evolved creatively?
I think since the writing process began, I have definitely defined my voice and my own individual style. I have become more confident in the things I want to say and the message I want to send through my words. I feel like once I opened the creative door and decided I was going to be a writer no matter what, my imagination kicked the door open and a whole wide world of wonder has come spilling out.



Q: What advice would you give to aspiring authors?
I could go on and on with tips for writers but my three main points would be:

Get a good idea- Find something that inspires you and build on it. Don’t write what you think will be popular. Write what you want to read. 

Write and rewrite within an inch of your life. Rewrite until you’re pulling your hair out and are tempted to throw your laptop out the window.

Don’t give up- sounds cliché but is so true it’s almost unreal. You’ll never get anywhere if you allow distractions or bumps in the road to steer you off track. Stay focussed on what you are aiming for and keep going until you get there.

Here are the links to Ms. McPherson’s Social Media and Website
Website: http://www.smcphersonbooks.com

Blog: http://www.smcphersonbooks.com/the-journey/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Smcphersonbooks/

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/smcphersonbooks

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/smcphersonbooks/ 

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/author/smcpherson 

Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/s_mcpherson_books/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14249321.S_McPherson 

Leave a Reply

