​Book Review: To All The Boys I Loved Before by Jenny Han

image

Title: To All The Boys I Loved Before
Author: Jenny Han
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Series: To All The Boys I Loved Before (#1)
Genre: YA, Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 369
Format: eBook (Kindle/ PDF)
Review Also Posted On: Goodreads
Book Synopsis:
Lara Jean’s love life gets complicated in this New York Times bestselling “lovely, lighthearted romance” ( SLJ) from the New York Times bestselling author of The Summer I Turned Pretty series.

What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them…all at once?

Sixteen-year-old Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.

The Book Is About:
A girl named Lara Jean, who loved five boys in her entire life. But she was just an admirer from afar. So she wrote letters to each boys containing everything she felt for each of them, It was for her to keep and cherish. After a fight with someone, her secret letters were now sent to each boy without her knowing about it. She found out about it when one a boy came to her and told her about her letter, that boy was one of the five boys she liked back in eighth grade, and now Lara Jean is embarrassed beyond belief now that she found out her letters were sent to all of those boys. It even reached her sisters ex which was also a family friend. Her sister’s ex felt the same way with her somehow and told her she should’ve said something before he and her sister became an item. Now Lara Jean lied about not liking her sister’s ex and now she lied about having a boyfriend. Her pretend boyfriend was the most good looking boy in their grade and both of them had a goal, Lara Jean’s goal was to make her sister’s ex think she really is in a relationship and that she never had feelings for him and His goal is to make his ex jealous so he can get her back. Will they succeed in their charades? Will their pretend relationship be successful in reaching their goals? Are they still pretending to be in love? Or are they actually falling in love for each other?

My Review:
I found out about To All the Boys I Loved Before through my cousin, She likes to read and I mean she really likes to read, she reads while she’s napping, riding a car, when she gets the free time, that’s why she got a really high grade on her eyes. (400+) anyway, she told me that To All The Boys I Loved Before series was really good also the Selection Series but I decided to not read the Selection Series yet. But I Will soon.

I love the book cover of this book though. It really catches your eyes, it’s quite engaging really, that’s
one of the factor I look in a book. I know that the most important part if the book is the story but
I really like to look at and admire pretty covers of books. it is really interesting and cute, I like the Idea of a person in the cover of the book so you can imagine what the main character looks like in the book.

I liked the book, A LOT. Mind you it’ll give you a fountain of feels once you read it. I literally kept on throwing my tablet on my bed every time Lara Jean does something cute and romantic with her pretend boyfriend or when Lara Jean started doubting her plan on having a pretend boyfriend. I kept smiling all through out the book, I didn’t even put the book down while I was reading it, I read the book till I fell asleep and I read the book when I wake up. I couldn’t bare to not read it because I had so many questions, so many things running through my mind.

I liked how Jenny Han made such a cute and quirky character, that’d be Lara Jean. It was really fun while it lasted and I was really glad on how the story turned out.
✅Dialogues: Were great, nicely written.
✅Characters: each had their own unique characteristics and their own charms that’d really attach you to them
✅Plot: Was actually quite good.
✅Flow of the Story: Really, Really good easy to follow, it wasn’t cluttered at all.
✅Detailing in the book: Was Great.

I liked this Quote though:

“No. I Like Tommy. It’s not that. It’s Scary when It’s real. When it’s not just thinking about a person, but, like, having a real live person in front of you, with, like, Expectations. And wants.”

Overall. This was really a good book. Would I read this book again? Probably, I’ll read this book when I want to get rid of a reading slump or when I’d like to refresh the memory of this book.

I Give this book:

image

Leave a Reply

