Author Interview with Kristin Gleeson, Author of The Imp of Eye

 

wp-1469985475019.jpg

BIO:

Originally from Philadelphia, Kristin Gleeson lives in Ireland, in the West Cork Gaeltacht, where she teaches art classes, plays harp, sings in an Irish choir and runs two book clubs for the village library.
She holds a Masters in Library Science and a Ph.D. in history, and for a time was an administrator of a national archives, library and museum in America. She has also worked as a public librarian in America and Ireland

“Okay, So here’s the link for My Book Review on the Amazing book Ms. Kristin wrote:

 https://kenchireads.wordpress.com/2016/07/20/book-review-the-imp-of-eye-by-kristin-gleeson-and-moonyeen-blakey/ 

you can check it out after you read Ms. Kristin’s Interview.

Let’s Begin.”

Q:Can you please tell the readers what The Imp of Eye is about?

-It’s set in London in 1440, when many royal factions were forming at court and warring for power. The novel tells the story of an orphan youth, Barnabas, who is a servant to a witch/wise woman, Margery Jourdemayne and the story of Eleanor, the Duchess of Gloucester. Vain and ambitious, the Duchess is desperate to have a child and seeks Jourdemayne’s help. Her husband’s enemies are determined to use her to bring about her husband’s downfall. Barnabas is drawn in to help the Duchess with his gift of the sight and is soon in as much danger and both must fight to save themselves.

Q:What inspired you to write this book?

-The idea was originally my close friend’s Moonyeen Blakey. She was fascinated with Margery Jourdemayne’s story and wrote a draft of the novel. It was her decision to write it from Barnabas’s viewpoint, though she made him a much younger lad. Sadly she had a recurrence of cancer that she thought she’d beaten 20 years before and died. Before her death she asked me to take on the manuscript and do what I thought best for it. I read it over and reworked it, giving the Duchess a substantial part and brought in Alys and increased Barnabas’s age. All the while, it was as if Moon sat on my shoulder discussing various aspects with me. It was quite an experience.

Q:Is there a particular character you liked in the Imp of Eye?

-I have to say I became so fond of Barnabas and Alys I decided to make it into the series. I’ve since written and published, a prequel a novelette, A Trick of Fate, (free on Amazon, apple, nook, etc) and the next in the series, The Sea of Travail. Soon I’ll be starting the third full length book.

Q:Can you tell us about the book cover of Imp of Eye? who designed it?

wp-1469985518052.jpg

– I’m thrilled with the book cover. It’s everything I wanted it to be. I am fortunate the my cover designer, Jane Dixon-Smith, is so good to work with and so very talented. We located the medieval image of London and she designed the rest to make it in keeping with novels of that type. I think the cover fits the nature of the book so well.

Q:If you weren’t writing novels what would you be doing?

– I’m also a librarian and I love that job, so it fits right in with my love of books. I also play the harp and the fiddle, focusing mainly on traditional Irish music. And I do have a passion for painting in oils and water colour. If I wasn’t working full time and writing so much I would definitely be doing that more often.

Q: are you working on a new novel? if so can you tell us what’s it about?

– I am working on the second novel of my Highland Ballad Series called The Mists of Glenstrae. The series begins with novel, The Hostage of Glenorchy. It’s set in Tudor Scotland and is about a woman who flees the court of Mary Queen of Scots in France after overhearing a plot to kill the Queen is sent to the laird of Glenorchy’s home in Scotland for safety. Disguised as a boy she becomes a lute player with the household musicians and meets Iain MacGregor, held hostage at the castle for political reasons. It isn’t long before Abby becomes an unwilling piece in the various castle intrigues and makes her wonder who she can trust. The current novel is set in Glenstrae, the MacGregor stronghold, and continues Abby’s adventures trying to navigate her way through the mire of Scottish politics and intrigue.

Q:Which author influenced you and what do you love about them?

-I’d say I was influenced by several authors, but most notably the iconic author, Dorothy Dunnett whose wit and historical accuracy and command of events are admirable. I also love the beautifully rendered novels of Sarah Dunant, especially her works set in Italy. Her descriptions engage all the senses and give the reader such a vivid picture of the story. But I also admire Joseph Boyden’s historic novels featuring First Nations in Canada and Nadeem Aslam’s contemporary literary novels set in Pakistan, Afghanistan and the UK.

Q:Do you have any advice for New authors?

A:My best advice to new authors is something many have said before me and despite that, I still think it’s the most important. And that’s to read. Read as much as you can in the genre you are most interested to write in. They even say you should read at least 1000 books in a genre before you even think about starting to write. It’s through the reading that you subconsciously pick up the nuances, the rhythms and the structures of that genre which readers also subconsciously expect.  The technical things can be learned easily enough.

LINKS:

Twitter: @krisgleeson

Website: http://www.kristingleeson.com/

Purchase link for Imp of Eye:

http://hyperurl.co/lztagm (Amazon)

http://bit.ly/1UYWFzC   (kobo)

http://bit.ly/1NmRktT (Nook/Barnes&Noble)

“THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR ANSWERING ALL THE QUESTIONS MS. KRISTIN IT WAS FUN TALKING, TWEETING AND EMAILING YOU. THANK YOU AGAIN FOR SENDING ME THE REVIEW COPY OF THE IMP OF EYE. I  HOPE THIS WON’T BE THE LAST TIME I WILL REVIEW A BOOK WRITTEN BY YOU.”

hipsterlogogenerator_1465737755679

Leave a Reply

