Author Interview: Doug J. Cooper (Crystal Deception)

Hello! everyone! and Welcome to my very first Author Interview. and it is With Mr. Cooper the author of The Crystal Deception Series.

BIO

41DQSfoAzAL._UX250_

 

As a child, Doug stood on a Florida beach and watched an Apollo spacecraft climb the sky on its mission to the moon. He thrilled at the sight of the pillar of flames pushing the rocket upward. And then the thunderous roar washed over him, shaking his body and soul.

 

The excitement of the moon landing inspired Doug to pursue a career in technology. He studied chemical engineering in college, and he now works as a professor and entrepreneur when he is not writing. His passions include telling inventive tales, mentoring driven individuals, and everything sci-tech.

 

In the books of the Crystal series, Doug swirls his creative imagination with his life experiences to craft science fiction action-adventure stories with engaging characters and plot lines with surprises. He lives in Connecticut with his wonderful wife and with pictures of his son, who is off somewhere in the world creating adventures of his own.

 

 

LINKS

“here are the links I asked Mr. Cooper to type so you can follow his social media accounts and check out his website.”

 

Author Links

Web: http://crystalseries.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/crystalseries

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Crystalseries

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7269127.Doug_J_Cooper

Amazon Author: http://www.amazon.com/Doug-J.-Cooper/e/B00F7IJBP0

 

Book Links

Crystal Deception – http://www.amazon.com/Crystal-Deception-ebook/dp/B00F75C4W0

Crystal Conquest – http://www.amazon.com/Crystal-Conquest-ebook/dp/B00PKA2ZY4

Crystal Horizon – http://crystalseries.com/

 

 

Q&A

Thank you, Kenchi, for this opportunity to appear on your blog. I appreciate it.

Q: Tell us about your latest project.

I am excited that my new book Crystal Rebellion, the third full-length scifi-suspense book of Crystal series, will be available August 31, 12016. I am very excited. I love the story, think it’s my best work yet, and am anxious to learn if my fans and new readers agree.

The first two books, Crystal Deception and Crystal Conquest, established the characters and defined their world—Earth in the not-to-distant future with aliens at our door and AI helping with our defense.

This new book is different because it introduces our heroes as an established and functioning team rather than one in the process of self-discovery. I’ve written the story as a stand-alone book so new readers can start with it and enjoy the fun.

The setting is on Mars, and the bad guys are three AI crystals left behind after the last alien invasion of our solar system. The story contains all the grand elements of the Crystal series tradition—aliens, spies, artificial intelligence, romance, and battles in space!

Our heroes struggle to save the world and soon realize they need to save themselves. I’ll leave it at that as I don’t want to reveal any spoilers. I invite everyone to give the book a read when it is released in August, 2016, and enjoy the ride!

Q: What inspired you to take up the life of a writer?

I was looking for a new creative outlet in my life and started chasing a handful of ideas. I storyboarded a series of webcasts to go with my online textbook (www.controlguru.com), I outlined intellectual property ideas for a new technology company, and I tapped away at my keyboard writing a science fiction novel. Within months, my writing morphed into a passion and I dropped my other projects to give myself more time for it. I’ve been at it for about four years and my writing time remains a most treasured part of my day.

For the Crystal series, my goal is to write books that I would enjoy reading. My preference is fast-paced, action-adventure stories with great characters, a space tech theme, and a plot line with surprises.  I leave it to readers to tell me if I succeeded in that goal.

Q: What other work and writing have you done?

I am professor of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering at the University of Connecticut.  I also am founder of Control Station, Inc., a software and services technology company. These are both exciting endeavours and consume the bulk of my day.

In these professional roles, I have authored or co-authored more than 80 scholarly publications, including technical journal articles, conference papers, and a textbook. All that writing gave me the basics I have been building upon for my creative work. It also has given me lots of practice presenting science and technology concepts in a manner accessible to a broad audience, and this is something I draw upon in writing my books.

Q: Who designed the covers? What were you shooting for in the design?

A book cover is extremely important because it drives impulse purchases. How well a cover scales to a thumbnail size is equally important for web-based sales, and this applies to me because right now I sell exclusively on Amazon.

For my books, I worked with talented designers at damonza.com. I suggested vague notions to them. I wanted shadowy figures, to have a man and a woman who were a team, with maybe a military theme, and have them backlit by something happening in the distance. They did a great job and I love the results. The books have a retro feel that reminds me of old science fiction. I don’t know what readers think of the retro look, or if it’s helping or hurting sales. I’m always interested in hearing if anyone has an opinion on the subject.

Q: How do you get ideas for your characters? Do you model them after people you know?

None of my characters model a particular person. Rather, they all are a collection of traits and habits that I have observed in people, through reading, or from movies.  I write in a rotating point of view (POV) style where the reader spends time with each of the central characters, sometimes in different story lines that eventually merge as the plot develops. It’s great fun to sit down and “be” a character for a few days, observing events, drawing conclusions, and responding appropriately as that portion of the story unfolds.

I would describe my process for developing a character as much like building a jigsaw puzzle. I enjoy being at a particular point in an adventure, with characters deployed here and there, all with histories and in certain situations, and now I must move the story forward in a plausible and entertaining fashion. And in doing so, each character must behave in a manner consistent with their personality.

Q:Which authors influenced you and what do you love about them?

As a kid, I discovered Tom Swift, Jr., a young adult science fiction series. In different books, Tom builds a flying lab, a jet submarine, a giant robot, a rocket ship—I was in heaven. During my teens I gobbled science fiction, reading authors like Heinlein, Asimov, Clarke, and Bradbury. I started mixing in fantasy authors, ranging from Tolkien to Piers Anthony to Zelazny.  Now, too often I find myself reading best sellers, because that’s what’s available in airports when I travel.

Q: Do you have any advice for new authors?

Write every day and have fun doing it. Writing is art, and so there will be people who like what you do and those who don’t. So like any art form, do it for yourself.  Write what brings you joy and satisfaction, and you will produce the best work you are able and have fun doing it.

One way to practice is to write pieces and then stick them in a drawer. An alternative is to write things that will help society. Your neighborhood library, museum, senior center, or shelter all have access to grant opportunities and would benefit from a talented individual willing to help them write one. It’s hard work. It’s only creative to the extent you can spin the circumstances of the organization you are supporting to the requirements of the granting agency. But I know that anyone who writes a dozen grant applications will be judged a dozen times. It’s frustrating work, but like practicing your scales on an instrument, this sort of activity strengthens writing skills.

Q: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

My highest priority is to entertain. The educator in me reveals itself, though, because my next priority is to teach. I spread those pieces out so (hopefully) no one notices. But I enjoy weaving tidbits about science and technology into the stories.

As but one example, in a scene in Crystal Conquest, a character is in space looking back at Earth, marveling that the atmosphere responsible for protecting and nourishing all life appears as a thin layer—a wisp of gas—circling the planet. The scene continues with him wondering how that meager film can feel so thick and boundless when standing on Earth and looking up at the sky.

So, perhaps next time readers see a picture of Earth taken from space, they might take a moment to consider if “meager film” is an accurate descriptor of the atmosphere that protects us. If they agree and this is a new observation to them, perhaps it will inform their future thoughts and actions about how to treat that wisp of gas.

In the books, you can find a science-filled sentence or two about AI inference engines, orbital mechanics, automatic control systems, cloaking devices, and lots more, all buried in the stories so you don’t even know!

Q: Why did you choose to become an indie author rather than follow the traditional publishing route?

I chose the indie route for a number of reasons: I’m anxious to get new works out to readers in a timely fashion, I want to maintain long-term control over of the work, and I am excited by the entrepreneurial challenge.  Self-publishing has all aspects of the small business enterprise, including product creation, branding and marketing, finance, project management, and intellectual property concerns. I love exploring ways to pull those levers to advance my writing career.

 

“Thank you very much Mr. Cooper for accepting my interview request. hope I can interview you again on the next books that you’ll be publishing and Hope to review more books written by you in the future. thank you for being really nice and cooperative. 

Have a Nice Day.” 

-Kenchi

hipsterlogogenerator_1465737755679

One thought on “Author Interview: Doug J. Cooper (Crystal Deception)

Leave a Reply

